skip to Main Content
BCC_Discussion-Forum-Page-Header-new

IMPORTANT: The Bladder Cancer Canada discussion forum is not a substitute for professional medical advice or treatment. The opinions & contents in this forum is for information only and is not reviewed by medical professionals. They are experiences & opinions of patient members like you, and is NOT intended to represent the best or only approach to a situation. Always consult your physician and do not rely solely on the information in this site when making decisions about your health.

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    TLR
    Participant

I’m a Palliative Care Nurse so obviously I’ve already given myself a death sentence.

The wait is hard and I guess I wonder what are the typical wait times are across Canada. I had blood in my urine with no pain or other symptoms April 24. Nothing noted  again for three days then it occurred again with one void. I called my MD and he can’t see me till late June but the NP can see me. We ran all kinds of tests on Tuesday that show no infection and kidney function is fine. Yesterday I had blood in every void- one void looked like pure blood. Today every void is clear. it’s come to the point I don’t even want to look into the toilet after a void.

As the NP the MD and myself suspect bladder cancer at this point since every other plausible cause is ruled out a consult to urology was sent and I will see the urologist June 1. I feel like I should see him now not in two weeks. Is that a normal wait time?

I can only find mention of blue light technology with cystoscopy in Canada in the provinces of BC and Ontario. I’m in Manitoba. Is this not a gold standard of diagnosis across the country since the blue light illuminates the smallest of malignant spots in the bladder wall?

I’ve started to have pain in my abdomen and lower back today as well.